And the Subject was Life

I sat down to write

and the subject was life

I took my first breath

and then there was death

There was passion in my soul

But it leaked through a hole

Years passed me by

Until my eyes had gone dry

And in my head was a song

but the words were all wrong

And there was an itching in my fingers

for a thought that still lingers

It wandered in like a stray

and now it won’t go away

but it wanted to be fed

and it wanted to be read

So I sat down to write

and the stray was a thought on Life

How it howled here in my head

How it howls still, finally said

What do you think?

