A Christmas Carol

Twas the night before Christmas and all through the town

people danced, awake or dreaming, to the same hopeful sound


“Cara! Hey — Cara!”

“Oh hello, Louise. Thanks for sparing me.”

“What do you mean?”

“I mean everyone’s been calling me Carol all day.”

“They think they’re clever, do they?”

“Apparently.”

“Boy, it’s good to see you. How long’s it been?”

“Oh probably not since last December, I reckon. What are you doing out at such an hour anyhow?”

“Just some last minute holiday preparations. And you, Cara? I’m guessing you aren’t out caroling.”

“Ha. Ha.”

“That’s my Cara. Gloriously cynical. Untouched, even by the lures of Christmas Eve.”

“Well you don’t have to say it like that, Louise.”

“But that’s me, Cara. Gloriously honest. Even on Christmas Eve.”

“You know, even if Jesus were the Messiah, he was probably not even born in Winter.”

“So I’ve heard.”

“I just don’t understand all the fuss, that’s all.”

“Well, that’s clear.”

“I’m sorry, Louise, I have the feeling running into me is beginning to ruin your holiday.”

“Just the opposite actually. I love running into old friends. Especially when they are as utterly helpless as yourself.”

“Louise, you’re just the same as you were last year, and the year before that, and the year before that…”

“And you’re not?”

“Boy it’s cold out here.”

“Not in here, it’s not.”

“You’re crazy, Louise, you know that?”

“I missed seeing that smile, Cara. It always did take a mad amount of prodding to get one out of you.”

“Well, Louise, I supposed I missed you too.”

“Ha — I knew it. And you know what else?”

“What?”

“Someday, Cara, you’re going to admit it outright.”

“Admit what?”

“God and wise men aside, there’s something to Christmas, even if it be only a human aspect… But then isn’t the hope and kindness and kinship of mankind just as promising as a Messiah?”

“Go enjoy your rituals, Louise.”

“I always do, Cara. I always do.”

“Say hello to the family for me, will ya?”

“Merry Christmas, Scrooge.”

“I’ll see  you around, Louise.”


“You’ll never believe how long it takes to get a taxi on a night like this.”

“Well, miss, I drive ‘em, so I think I can imagine. Where to?”

“Town square, please.”

“My pleasure. Driving straight into the mouth of the city on the busiest night of the year. Sheesh, you young people and your annoying tolerance for traffic.”

“I like you, sir. You say exactly what you are thinking.”

“Sorry, miss.”

“No, really that wasn’t sarcasm. It’s refreshing, really.”

“Well, one more earnest really and maybe I’ll believe you. Say, what’s your name?”

“Caroline.”

“Nice, down to earth name.”

“I like to think so. How long do you think it’ll take in this traffic?”

“You’re joking, right?”

“Maybe I’ll just walk. How much do I owe you?”

“You know what, Miss Caroline, I’ll let you have this little three block ride free of charge. It’s Christmas, after all.”

“Sure you won’t get lonely in this traffic with no passenger?”

“The bars are packed with lonely people, and say, they all need a good old cabbie like myself. I think I’ll be just fine.”

“Well thanks.”

“You be safe now, miss, and have a Merry Christmas.”


“Good evening, M’am. May the peace of our Lord Jesus be with you.”

“Mhmm.”

“M’am, I’m sorry I know it’s difficult to hear in all this ruckus. I said may the peace of our Lord Jesus be with you.”

“I heard you.”

“Oh, pardon me.”

“I’ve heard it before.”

“Well, Merry Christmas, and may the peace of –”

“Do you hear that?”

“Hear what?”

“I was afraid I was too late.”

“Hear what, m’am?”

“The choir. You know, I’ve come here every year since I was a child, right to the town square, just to listen? Once a year.”

“It is rather beautiful isn’t it?”

“You know, I almost studied music, in a conservatory, once.”

“Is that so?”

“Yes, I wanted to be in a choir, just like this.”

“What happened?”

“Oh you know. Decided it made more sense, to do something more down to earth — more useful. I mean, one has to grow up some time. Don’t you agree?”

“Well, sure. As long as in growing up we aren’t growing down.”

“What’s that supposed to mean?”

“Oh you know. Parables, cryptic speech. I am a religious man after all.”

“…”

“We are allowed a sense of humor you know.”

“…”

“You really do enjoy just listening don’t you?”

“Once a year.”

“Can I ask you something?”

“Shoot.”

“Why would you choose the…down to earth, as you said. I mean, when you can choose something so heavenly — so celestial? Pardon me, I don’t believe people use the word celestial very often these days.”

“You mean why did I stop music?”

“I mean — they’re just Carols, but…aren’t they beautiful?”

“Yes, I suppose they are.”


Merry Christmas everyone! – Currer, Ellis, and Acton

What do you think?

